Still Alice–Library Member’s Book Review

Still Alice / Lisa Genova

Summary: “Alice Howland, happily married with three grown children and a house on the Cape, is a celebrated Harvard professor at the height of her career when she notices a forgetfulness creeping into her life. As confusion starts to cloud her thinking and her memory begins to fail her, she receives a devastating diagnosis: early onset Alzheimer’s disease.”

Review: I just finished Lisa Genova’a book “Still Alice,” it is a ‘must read’ … Here is what I posted on Ms Genova’s Facebook page:Still Alice
***
Bruce Haase
Today at 1:23pm
Dear Ms. Genova, My wife and I just finished “Still Alice,” a most excellent book. Easily in my top 25 of all-time, I’m 71 and have been an avid reader all of my life. In the two days that it took me to read the book, a few times I became Alice and forgot that I was reading, having to turn the page reminded me that I was reading a book. Few books have given me that experience, “Slaughterhouse Five” and “Or I’ll Dress You In Mourning” are two others that grabbed me so completely. “Still Alice” is not only a terrific story with a almost too real central character, it is also very well written and informative. Most importantly it, Is A Very Important Book !!! An important book that should be read by just about everyone in all countries. Alzheimer’s is a most human problem that knows no boundaries. As far as your ‘writer’s voice’, thank you for your choice in using Fiction. “Alice” could never have spoken to humanity as well in non-fiction, she whispered, not shouted, in my ear and now resides in my mind. She reminds me to beware and pay attention to those around me and myself. Alice and Lisa, two castle sentries, are warning us all to be on the alert. The old saw, “Reading non-fiction is like listening to a master play scales, while fiction can be a symphony!” is proven true once again by “Still Alice” Thank You again for your Symphony of broadening knowledge. btw We now have a must see movie to watch on the netflix machine and your Latest Books to Read. With Sincerity and Affection, Bruce & Margaret Haase, Fremont, CA
****

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Events, Links, Older Adults, Reading

Leave a Reply

