Write Your Story…What if

eiffel_tower_blueWrite Your Story @ the Union City Library

Join our senior library member Bruce Haase and write your memoir. Bruce is a life long reader, he now writes memoire-based, creative non-fiction. These are informal meetings to support each other and organize your thoughts for writing. Sharing is optional.

  Meetings take place  January 19, and February 16, and March 15

1 — 3 p.m. Please bring your pen & paper.

For more information contact : Bruce Haase                                       Email:ohnjca@comcast.net

the following texts has been sumbitted by Bruce Haase

WHAT IF I  ………..

It’s now 2016, what if I wrote a song, or a poem, or an essay, or a short story, each week? What if I do that and each week print it and put it in a binder… By 2017, I would have 52 musings gathered together. I could share them, or not. I could read through them and find something out about my writing skills and abilities…

If nothing else, I will have improved my imagination and my ability to concentrate my efforts for self-discipline… It may even be some fun, for sure it would be inexpensive…

***************************

WHAT IF I  …………………

Gave my self the gift of a self-assignment each week or day… It would not have to be writing, but writing would be good…

Let’s say one week or day I will write THREE opening paragraphs… Or THREE final paragraphs… Maybe THREE character outlines… Or settings… How about ONE HUNDRED plus words about a low reading on your gas gage, on a lonely road, at night, you’re alone, your cellphone battery is dead, you don’t know how far you are from a gas station, or civilization… Could you find a hundred words in that situation ?

Self-Assignments can be very educational and gratifying. Plus there is the great advantage that NO ONE is judging your work. Except you, of course, don’t be too hard on yourself. Grade yourself on a curve, I do…

**********************************

It’s January 2016, a New Year, the sky’s the limit, have some fun… You deserve it !!!

*****

1 Comment

Filed under Events, Older Adults, Uncategorized, Union City Library

One response to “Write Your Story…What if

  1. Pingback: Write Your Story @ the Union City Library | Union City Library Blog

Leave a Reply

