Write Your Story …First Dates

First Dates

 

The two friends were nursing cups of coffee as they reminisced in a diner.1950-1959

“I hardly remember my first prom,” Juanita said.  “It was so long ago!”

“Oh, come on, you’ve got to remember something!” Joyce commented.
What color was your dress?”

“Yellow, I think!”

“Pale yellow, bright yellow, gold?”

“Just yellow – like up there on the wall.”

Joyce turned to look.  The words on the sign were painted in an eye catching sunny yellow.

“Okay, long dress or short?”

Juanita pointed to her calf.

“Tea length,” Joyce said.  “Was it a solid color or some kind of print?  Chiffon or brocade?”

Juanita thought for a moment.  “It was all the same color, but it had a little jacket.”  Her fingers indicated that the jacket came to just beneath her bust line.

“A bolero?”

“Yeah.  It was some kind of bumpy material.  You know what I mean.”

“I don’t, but that’s okay.  Were you a senior or a junior?”

“It was eighth grade.  I went with Leverett Lemki.”

“Now we’re getting somewhere.  What was he like?”

“I don’t remember.  It was a long time ago.”

“Did he have glasses?  Was he tall or short?”

“He was tall.  I remember that.  I don’t know about the glasses.”

“Did you ask him or did he ask you?”

“I don’t remember.”

“Was he your first date?”

“Probably.”

“And you don’t remember it?”  Joyce looked surprised.  She asked, “Was the prom in a school or someplace else?”

“A school, Decoto School.”

“If it was eighth grade, someone must have driven you there.  Your folks or his?”

“I don’t remember.  But, it wasn’t our parents.  We went with another couple.”

“Who?  Your sister or brother?  His sister or bother?”

“I don’t know.  I just know that we left early and drove around for a while.”

“You left early?  Why?”

“I don’t know.  I wasn’t into music.  I didn’t even know how to dance.”

“Was there a band?  Decorations?  Food?”

“I don’t think so.”

“How do you have a prom without a band or decorations?”

“I don’t know.  The PTA probably put it on.  They did a lot of that kind of thing.  They probably had a record player and records.”

“What kind of music did they play?”

“I don’t know.”

Joyce started naming music from the late 40s and early 50s.  Juanita shook her head ‘no’ until “Shaboom”,” Abbadabba”, and “Heart of Stone” were mentioned.

“Maybe those songs … but I don’t really remember.  It was a long time ago!  I wasn’t into music.  I was a nerd.  I guess I did the slow dances.”

“Tennessee Waltz”?  “Allegheny Moon”?

“Maybe!”

“Did you have punch and cookies or what?”

“Punch, I guess.”

“Was your dress new or borrowed?”

“New!”

“Where did you get it?”

“I don’t remember.”

“A fancy shop or a department store?”

“I don’t remember.”

“That’s okay.  Was the prom in the gym?”

“We didn’t have a gym in the junior high.  They held it in the elementary school instead.”

“Really?  The Decoto School was elementary?”

“Yeah!”  Juanita laughed.

“You left early.  Did you go someplace for ice cream afterward?”

“No, we just drove around and then I went home.”

“You were what, thirteen?”

Juanita nodded yes.  “About that!”

“No wonder you don’t remember it.  You were just a kid.”

“It was a long time ago.”

The two older women pushed their chairs back from the table.  They looped purses over their arms and deposited the empty cups on the restaurant’s counter.

“That was fun!” Joyce said as they walked out the door.  “I liked hearing your story.”

The story has been submitted by Joyce Hornblower , Union City Library Member

May 28, 2016

Write Your Story @ the Union City Libraryeiffel_tower_blue

Join our senior library member Bruce Haase and write your memoir. Bruce is a life long reader, he now writes memoire-based, creative non-fiction. These are informal meetings to support each other and organize your thoughts for writing. Sharing is optional.

Meetings take place

  August 16, September 20

and October 18

1 — 3 p.m.

Please bring your pen & paper.

For more information contact :

Bruce Haase

Email:ohnjca@comcast.net

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Older Adults, Union City Library

Leave a Reply

