Write Your Story…prompt

Missing Person/ Animal/ Cellphone

 Submitted by Pushpanjali (Urmi), the Union City Library Member

I miss my first cellphone that my parents gifted to me after I finished my high school. A very basic Nokia model that was just capable to send messages, and dial numbers. And it also had Snake II — a game that I did not like particularly yet played when I was bored.

I miss that phone terribly. It rang when someone wanted to reach out to me and it delivered messages to my friends I wanted to hang out with. Otherwise, it used to just lay around somewhere on my study table.But that phone was way better than my current smartphone. Why? My current smartphone is similar to a clinging boyfriend; updating me about my whereabouts, notifying me about my daily schedule, making me look stupid by staring at it for hours, and isolating me from my surroundings. Oh! I wish I could get back that Nokia 3310.

Write Your Story @ Union City Library

Join our library group, headed by Bruce Hasse, for an   informal gathering of aspiring writers of all types of genres. Your writing can be memoirs, creative non-fiction, poetry, song lyrics, science fiction, plays,essays, you name it!  We just want to hear what you have written and support each other as we grow as writers.

Third Tuesday of the Month:   September 19 , October 17 , and November    21                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            1 p.m. — 3 p.m.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Friends of the Library, Uncategorized, Union City Library

Leave a Reply

